Low Graphics Version     
How Do I...VisitingLivingWorkingDepartmentsCalendarsServices
Homepage > News > News DetailsE-mail storyPrint friendly format
Online Services

News Details

El Segundo Reads... The Good Earth By Pearl S. Buck

Flyers are available at the Library


 El Segundo Reads...The Good Earth


Copies of The Good Earth as well as other books by Pearl S. Buck are available from the library Reference Desk during the months of September and October.


Mr. Richard Tsao

Chinese Culture for The Traveler

Tuesday, October 11, 2005

7:00 p.m.

Library Matsui Room


Professor Lisa Tran of

California State University,


The Historical Context of
The Good Earth

Thursday, October 27, 2005

7:00 p.m.

Library Matsui Room

Book Discussions

Wednesday, October 12, 2005

2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Library Matsui Room with

Senior Librarian, Dina Cramer


Monday, October 17, 2005

7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Library Matsui Room with

Senior Librarian, Dina Cramer

All programs are free and open to the public.  Book groups are welcome.

Film Showings

The Good Earth

Library Matsui Room

Thursday, October 20, 2005

at 6:30 p.m.


Wednesday, October 26, 2005

at 3:30 p.m.

The Good Earth, 1937 MGM Academy Award for Luise Ranier for best actress, running time: 138 minutes.


           Pearl S. Buck Biographical Highlights

An American author, Pearl S. Buck (1892-1973) won the 1938 Nobel Prize for literature.  Many of her works urged greater understanding between peoples of Asia and the West.  The Good Earth (1931) won the 1932 Pulitzer Prize.  This book is  part of a series of three novels called The House of Earth, which also includes Sons (1932) and A House Divided (1935).

Pearl Sydenstricker was born June 26, 1892, in Hillsboro, West Virginia.  She grew up in China, where her parents were missionaries.  She attended college in the United States but later taught in China.  In 1917, she married John Buck, a U.S. agricultural expert living in China.  They divorced in 1935.  That year she married Richard John Walsh. 

Pearl Buck’s first book of fiction, East Wind: West Wind, was not published until 1930, when she was 38.  But from that time until her death, she wrote more than 65 books, plus hundreds of short stories and essays.  Her other novels set in the Far East include Dragon Seed (1942), Imperial Woman (1956), and The Living Reed (1963).  She also wrote several novels with an American setting under the name of John Sedges.  Buck wrote two autobiographical works, My Several Worlds (1954), and A Bridge for Passing (1964).—World Book Encyclopedia 2005




Copyright © 2000 - 2015 City of El Segundo, 350 Main Street, El Segundo, CA 90245 · 310-524-2300 | Website Privacy Policy. Powered by