Low Graphics Version     
How Do I...VisitingLivingWorkingDepartmentsCalendarsServices
Homepage > ... > Library > Library Board of Trustees > About the BoardE-mail storyPrint friendly format
Online Services

About the Board

Library Board of Trustees (Library Department) was established by City Council Resolution #3665 on December 4, 1990, pursuant to Education Code Section 18910 et seq. The Board's 5-members must be 1-year, or more, residents of El Segundo, who serve without compensation. Trustees serve for 3-year terms and there is no limit on the number of terms a member may serve. The board acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council in all matters pertaining to the Library and cooperates with other governmental agencies and civic groups in the advancement of sound planning and programming. The board considers, reviews, edits, and issues policy recommendations on library service, recommends the adoption of standards pertaining to library services and programs and makes recommendations for the provision of adequate library services consistent with community needs. The board may administer any trust declared or created for the Library and approves the Library's Annual Report to the State Librarian. The board meets at 7:00 p.m., on the 2nd Tuesday of every other month, beginning in January, in the Library's Rose Garden Meeting Room.

Library Board Members

Carol Ericson
David Jonta
Janice Merva
Kristie Sherrill
Sara Whelan

Copyright © 2000 - 2020 City of El Segundo, 350 Main Street, El Segundo, CA 90245 ยท 310-524-2300 | Website Privacy Policy. Powered by